Big splash at Winter Meet

Big splash at Winter Meet

Toby Lloyd (14) of Blenheim Swimming Club was the best overall boy at the annual Swimming Nelson Marlborough Winter Meet, held over the weekend at Stadium 2000 in Blenheim.

Ten-year-old Cassandra Hagan of Nelson Swimming Club won the cup for best overall girl for most points, while Nelson South Swimming Club again captured the team title by a clear margin.

Toby also collected a $100 prize for breaking a meet record by the biggest percentage margin. His time in the 400 Individual Medley bettered the previous meet record for the 13-14 age group by nearly 21 seconds, or 6.46%.

Meanwhile, the region’s other top swimmers set more records and qualified for upcoming national age group meets, enjoying perfect conditions in Blenheim’s new pool complex. Kaiori McGuinnety of Nelson South set four new regional records, including taking a full two seconds off the record for the 100m butterfly in the 17-year-old age group with his time of 1:00.40. Sara Gane of Blenheim set three regional records, William Borrell of Nelson collected two, and Rebecca Hull (Blenheim), Grace Woodall (Nelson South) and Skye Eden (Nelson South) got one each.

Seventy-four swimmers from Blenheim, Nelson, Nelson South, Waimea and Motueka swimming clubs took part in the meet, which for the first time featured live results broadcast to smartphones.

Full results

Medallists for the age groups were:

Girls 10 & Under:  1. Cassandra Hagan (NEL), 2. Sarah-Kate Birkett (NEL), 3. Cailtlin Oldridge (NEL)

Boys 10 & Under:  1. Burty Meffan (NSSC), 2. Bendi Kepess (NSSC)

Girls 11-12:  1. Clara Foster (NSSC), 2. Lucy Kerry (BLEN), 3. Sara Fish (BLEN)

Boys 11-12:  1. Todd Balance (NSSC), 2. Matai McGuinnety (NSSC), 3. Xavier Anderson (NEL)

Girls 13-14:  1. Sara Gane (BLEN), 2. Ellie Rukuwai (NSSC), 3. Phillipa Dwyer (NSSC)

Boys 13-14:  1. Toby Lloyd (BLEN), 2. Anton Horton (BLEN), 3. Sam McKenzie (NEL)

Girls 15 & Over:  1. Grace Woodall (NSSC), 2. Madisen Stanley (NEL), 3. Skye Eden (NSSC)

Boys 15 & Over:  1. Nick Kerry (BLEN), 2. William Borrell (NEL), 3. Kaiori McGuinnety (NSSC)

Posted: Sun 19 Aug 2012