Waimea swimmers win South Island trophy – again

Waimea swimmers win South Island trophy – again

Hannah Bingham, Edyn Hodgson and Nathan Limmer each won four events to help Waimea Swimming Club defend the trophy for top club at the South Island Country & Town Swimming Competition held in Dunedin last weekend.

Finn Lewis (15) of Golden Bay also won four events, with three second places and one third in his eight events and Oliver Loza (12) of Blenheim had three firsts and two second place finishes as Nelson Marlborough won the trophy for the region winning the most points per swimmer.

Lewis and Hodgson both broke meet records, Lewis in the 200m butterfly and Hodgson in the 100m breaststroke.

Photo: Ethan Martin of Motueka takes flight at the So Island Country & Town competition.

Jessie Brown (12) of Waimea added to her club’s tally with two firsts, one second and two third place finishes, and teammate Emma Lovell (16) had two firsts and one second.

Other swimmers winning events were Bryn Boyes (15) and Kate Kroupa (12) of Motueka; Jarrod Limmer (16), Krystal Hollis (15), and Holly McKay of Waimea; and Fergus Drummond (13) and Emily Smith (12) of Tasman Swim Club.

Bingham (16), who attends Waimea College, also had five second place finishes in an outstanding performance that saw her dominate the girls’ 15 years & over age group, winning the 50 and 200 metre breaststroke, 200m individual medley and 200m backstroke.

The meet was remarkable for the number of personal best times achieved by Nelson Marlborough swimmers. Several swimmers swam personal bests in every event they entered, including Loza and older brother Thomas of Blenheim; Nick Hall of Nelson South; Tomo Clere of Golden Bay; Trinity Holtham of Tasman; and Edyn Hodgson, Krystal Hollis, Maia Hughes, Lucy McKay and Jessie Brown of Waimea.

Nearly accomplishing the same feat, with PBs in all but one event, were Tasman’s Bella Goomes and Fergus Drummond; Blenheim’s Victoria Daniel, Madeleine Trolove and Molly Glover; Motueka’s Ryan Heywood and Waimea’s Riley Nixon.

Nelson Marlborough relay teams also did well. Boyes, Hodgson, Finn Lewis and Hollis won the 200m medley relay in the 15 & over age group  while Jarrod and Nathan Limmer teamed up with Boyes and Lewis to win the 200m freestyle relay in that age group. In the 200 m medley relay in the 10 & under age group, Keita McKay and Jade Hughes of Waimea joined Goomes and Nixon to win the event for Nelson Marlborough.

Fergus Drummond

Fergus Drummond of Tasman at the start of the 200m backstroke, in which he improved his personal best time by 9.41 seconds. He also had a 12 second PB in the 200 free.

Posted: Mon 03 Apr 2017