Tasman swimmers claim medals at NAGs

Tasman swimmers claim medals at NAGs

The strength of Tasman Swim Club has been rewarded at the 2018 AON National Age Group Swimming Championships held on the North Shore in mid-April, as four Tasman swimmers brought home medals. 

Tasman’s Sierra Thomas (14) topped the efforts with silver medals in the 800m and 400m freestyle events.  Thomas also broke Swimming Nelson Marlborough (SNM) age group records (in those events as well as in the 400m medley. 

Piper Riley, also 14yrs from Tasman, won silver in the 200m butterfly and bronze in the 100m butterfly events. 

Two 14yr boys from Tasman had breakthrough performances at the national level.  Alec Swan won bronze in the 1500m freestyle event, while Joshua Amyes won bronze in a very closely fought 100m freestyle final.  Amyes also broke four SNM age group (14yr) records in the 100m backstroke, 200m backstroke, 100m butterfly and 200m butterfly events.  The backstroke records were held by Hayden Clement since 1995. 

Photo (L to R): Joshua Amyes, Sierra Thomas, Piper Riley and Alec Swan

Nelson South Swimming Club member Matai McGuinniety (17yrs) broke three SNM open records at Nationals, in the 100m backstroke, 50m butterfly and 100m butterfly events.  McGuinniety added an SNM age group record in the 50m backstroke to his tally. 

Another highlight of the meet was the 4th equal placing for Ruby-Lou Stuart (Nelson South) and Bree Anderson (Tasman) in the 15yrs girls 400m Medley event. After eight lengths of the pool, the two both stopped the clock at 5:19.70, setting a new SNM age group record.  Stuart also broke the age group record for the 200m butterfly for 15yr girls, previously held by Tracy Norton since 1992. 

Nelson South club members Clara Foster (18) and Xavier Anderson (17) also broke SNM age group records, Foster bagging the 100m butterfly while Anderson set a new benchmark in the 200m butterfly. 

The following competitors from the Nelson South Swim Clubs and the Tasman Swim Club attended this meet, alongside members of the New Zealand Swimming Team including Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Lewis Clareburt.

Nelson South Swim Club: Xavier Anderson (17), Zara Aydon (14), Emily Bryant (13), Clara Foster (18), Lilly Hall (12), Nicholas Hall (14), Reuben Lile (14), Rebecca Loach (13), Matai McGuinniety (17), Jacob Northage (17), Ilaria Old (14), Aliesha Peacock (15), Ruby-Lou Stuart (15), Georgie Trengrove (17)

Tasman Swim Club:  Sophie Alexander (15), Joshua Amyes (14), Bree Anderson (15), Fergus Drummond (14), Emma Fox (15), Leah Friend (15), Samantha Harman (13), Moab Heynekamp (15), Bendi Kepess (15), Jaxon Marshall (14), Benjamin Munro (16), Piper Riley (14), Abbey Smale (14), Alec Swan (14), Sierra Thomas (14), Isabella Thurlow (13)

Posted: Fri 04 May 2018